Jollibee and Chowking coming to Seattle!

If Filipinos are led by their stomachs, then my belly and the rest of me will be finding its way to Southcenter often. Why? Because Jollibee and Chowking are opening up at the new mega-grocery store/eatery, Seafood City Supermarket, coming to the Westfield Southcenter in Tukwila later this summer.

The murmur that Seafood City would be coming along with Jollibee and Chowking (their Manila website) started on their Facebook page this past winter. As soon as I learned that this new grocery destination would have two of my Filipino fast food faves, I was already anticipating going to Tukwila for some Chickenjoy from Jollibee and Halo Halo from Chowking.

I know what you’re thinking; fast food? Wha? Yeah, it’s a little different from my normal food leanings, but for Filipinos local and from afar, this news is exciting. The Filipino population in the Seattle metropolitan area is large and hungry! We love to eat and having the opportunity to have some food that reminds many of home is always welcome.

In the case of Jollibee they’ll have the standards that have made them in the Philippines a quick eatery. Chickenjoy (a plate of fried chicken), Yumburger (their hamburger), Palabok (a Filipino noodle dish that is an amalgamation of flavors and textures), and a bunch of breakfast options. Yup, I’m looking forward to going and dragging my friends along with for the eating. It may remind you of McDonald’s, but would you see Ronald do this?

As for Chowking (which is actually a subsidiary of Jollibee), I am absolutely excited to have their Halo Halo a short drive away. I’ve shared my love for Halo Halo before, and when I eat at Chowking in the Philippines, it’s one of my favorite things to do while I’m there. It is fast food, but something about their combination is divine. Word off the street is that they have a special formula for their ice. This is the key to good Halo Halo. (ed. note – apparently they’ve already opened!)

Seafood City is opening up next week on July 22. Their Facebook page has been dropping all sorts of information and my friend Nancy Leson is planning on visiting Seafood City soon. The market will have all sorts of different eateries and a grocery store that purports to serve unique food, but I’ll most look forward to going to a couple of places that remind me of eating in Manila. (I’m crossing my fingers that their transition to Seattle is as good as what I have had in the islands.) And for this food loving Filipino, that’s a good thing. I think the thousands of other Filipino and Filipinas in the area would agree. See you in Seafood City in the near future.

UPDATE – Jollibee is opening Thursday September 16!

Seafood City Seattle
1368 Southcenter Mall, #100
Tukwila, WA 98188

8 thoughts on “Jollibee and Chowking coming to Seattle!

  1. I did finally make it to Seafood City and was very impressed with the size of the market. Sparkling clean too! I don’t think I’ve ever seen shopping carts this clean in my whole entire life and we’re talking decades here.

    I taste tested ChowKing because I have tried and absolutely loved their halo halo in the PI. The market version however leaves much to be desired – it was bland bland bland. I don’t know what the issue is – everything else about it seemed perfect. The size was gynormous, the ice stayed icy, the presentation was drool worthy. But, there was no taste – not even overly sweet like Filipino foods tend to be sometimes. I added some sugar and it improved it somewhat but still lacked depth. It was very disappointing because I had gone specifically for a halo halo fix!

    On the upside, I did try their fried chicken and it was absolutely fantastic. I’m not a pancit bihon fan but I chose it for the side and it too was super good.

    Also, I couldn’t help but be totally impressed by the employees. Most were young and there really was no need for the signs apologized for the newness of the staff. These folks were excellent, bar none. They were courteous, friendly, and hard working. I would hire every single one of them in a heartbeat!

    • The Jollibee at Southcenter/Seattle opens September 16th. We were at the Seafood City today, and they had signs up indicating when they were opening. They were training the new staff at the time we were there.

  2. We are come from Canada and plan visit Seattles, WA..Can you give me address? I didnt know that Jollibee resturant already open there since last time I eat at 1999 visit in philippines.. long time..

  3. Reblogged this on Flaming foodback for Nando's Canada and commented:
    Filipinos like to eat. I’ve been to their barbeques, and there is enough food to feed an army and a half. Jollibee and Chowking have been in Seattle for two years now. I visited the mall where they are now located, in the first week of September 2010, when the Jollibee and Chowking were still finalizing staff training, but the Seafood City had opened up and was busy even at 10am in the morning.

Leave a Reply

