Sippin’ on Siduri

I am in love with this winery and I have only had one glass of it. During my dinner at Art of the Table last weekend, Dustin paired the 2006 Siduri Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir with the main course and I was instantly smitten with wine from Siduri. He mentioned that they just received it that day; this stirred my curiosity and I was desperate to learn more about this winery.

Pinot Noir has always been a popular wine, but when Sideways came out a few years ago it reached even higher plateaus. This new demand drove the cost of Pinot up, but on the inverse, mediocre Pinot started to surface. It’s a difficult grape to grow and it can create wines that are deserving of all sorts of praise and sonnets. When it’s great it is truly great. Like Michael Jordan-level great. I felt this way with the Siduri I had. Now I wonder what it’ll be like if I ever have a taste of Domaine de la Romanée-Conti. Although I doubt I’ll ever have that opportunity.

I started to do some research on Siduri and was walloped with this nugget of information – when Pearl Jam hits the stage, Eddie Vedder drinks Siduri’s Van der Kamp Pinot Noir. I’ve been a huge Pearl Jam fan (Ten Club member!) and have gone to my fair share of shows. I’ve sat close enough to see Eddie bring a bottle of wine onstage and see him swig and enjoy himself. I always wanted to know what he drank and now I know. My obsession with Siduri continues.

Reading more about Siduri I discovered that Pinot noir is the only varietal that they produce. And they make Pinot from vineyards between Oregon and California. So this is great for those Pinot snobs that only drink from certain appellations, they’ll play nice with Pinot Noir from the states that do it best. However, best is a relative term because Siduri’s goal is to produce world-class Pinot noir from areas that grow Pinot best. Admirable indeed.

Digging a little deeper into Siduri, I also discovered that they produce and vinify each barrel of wine by lot, yeast, and cooperage. Idiosyncratic, but in their quest to create top notch Pinot noir that best expresses the terroir, these steps pay off in the long run.

The folks at Siduri have a good thing going. They’ve carved out a winemaking niche that is admirable and have the accolades to show for their efforts. I try to make it to Napa and Sonoma once a year and now I have another place to visit. It should be a fun visit don’t you think?

It’s interesting how much wine can grab you and sweep you off your feet. So much, that you can rediscover how great wine can be and how a sip can make you love it all over again. It’s happened a couple of times in my legal drinking career. Now I can chalk up a glass of Siduri Pinot noir to my list. I look forward to drinking more of their stuff.

One thought on “Sippin’ on Siduri

  1. I love when I find a good wine. Sometimes it is in the least expected place. The beauty and horror about a good wine and vintage, is that there are only so many bottles to be had….sip and sip well my friend.

Leave a Reply

